
THE SPRING 2017 UTAH WASTEWATER OPERATOR 
CERTIFICATION EXAMS 

 
OFFERED BY THE UTAH DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY 

 
Any particular exam may be taken on only one of the two dates – either March 3, 2017, at the Rural Water 

Association of Utah (RWAU) Annual Conference in St. George, OR on April 6, 2017, at one of the other 
locations (North Salt Lake, Ogden, Vernal, or Utah Co. Health & Justice Bldg. in Provo).  Note:  If there is 

enough demand, an April exam may be scheduled for the southern part of the state.  Please contact us BEFORE 
submitting your application, if you wish to be considered for an alternate southern location in April. 

 
March 3, 2017: Friday - 8:45 a.m. to noon, Dixie Center, St. George, Utah.  Applications must be 

received at the Division of Water Quality office by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, February 3, 
2017.  This is a separate application & fee from the RWAU conference registration. 

 
April 6, 2017: Thursday - 12:45 to 4:00 p.m., at one of the other 

locations in the state:  North Salt Lake, Ogden, Vernal, 
or Provo.  Applications must be received at the 
Division of Water Quality office by 5:00 p.m. on 
Wednesday, March 8, 2017.  This is a separate 
application & fee from any training seminar 
registration. 

 
EXAMS OFFERED:  Mandatory Program: Wastewater Treatment (Grades 

I – IV); Collection (Grades I – IV); Small Lagoon 
System I 
Voluntary Program:  Biosolids Land Applier 
(Grades I – II); Wastewater Laboratory Analyst 
(Grades I – IV); Plant Maintenance Technologist 
(Grades I – III) 

 
APPLICATIONS: Applications are available through the Division of Water Quality: 

 Visit our website at www.deq.utah.gov/Certification/certification/wq/opcert/ 
 Email wwopcert@utah.gov with “Application Request” in subject line 
 Call (801) 536-4344 to have an application form mailed to you 

 
Note: The exam rosters for each location are posted on our website under “Certification Exams”‒“Rosters” as 

soon as the applications are processed.  Check to be certain that you are scheduled for the specific type 
of exam and location you requested. Time allotted to take the exam is three (3) hours, in compliance 
with ABC’s testing recommendations.  No additional time is allowed if you choose to take more 
than one exam during a session. 

 
COST: $50.00 per exam‒make checks payable to “Division of Water Quality” 
 (Full refund up to the application deadline‒after the deadline, no refunds can be given) 
 
TO APPLY: Submit a fully completed exam application, notarized Citizenship/Alien ID Certification 

form with copy of photo ID (if not previously submitted), and the $50.00/exam fee payable 
by cash, check, money order, or credit/debit cards (on-line payments are now available). 
Do NOT MAIL cash. 

 
Mail to: Wastewater Operator Certification  Deliver to: Division of Water Quality 
 C/O Division of Water Quality  Multi Agency State Office Bldg, DEQ 3rd Floor 
 PO Box 144870  195 North 1950 West 
 Salt Lake City, UT  84114-4870  Salt Lake City, Utah 84116 

 
In compliance with the American with Disabilities Act, individuals with special needs (including auxiliary 

communicative aids and services) should contact Ashley Nelsen, Office of Human Resources, at 
 (801)903-3978, at time of application.. 
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(March only) 
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