
NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 40766

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality.
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan.
R307-110-17.  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and Point 
Sources, Part H, Emission[s] Limits.

The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part H, Emission[s] Limits and 
Operating Practices, as most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality 
Board on [December 2]December 7, 201[5]6, pursuant to Section 19-
2-104, is hereby incorporated by reference and made a part of these 
rules.

KEY:  air pollution, PM10, PM2.5, ozone
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 
4,] 2016
Notice of Continuation:  February 1, 2012
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-104

Environmental Quality, Air Quality
R307-302

Solid Fuel Burning Devices in Box 
Elder, Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, 

Utah and Weber Counties
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE

(Amendment)
DAR FILE NO.:  40773

FILED:  09/15/2016

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   This  rule  change  is  being  proposed  for  the 
purpose of  developing a PM2.5 State Implementation Plan 
approvable by the  Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). 
The amendment is being proposed in response to a request 
from the  EPA that  the  rule  should  provide  controls  during 
start-up and refueling processes.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule has been 
amended to include the following changes:  1) a definition for 
"seasoned  wood"  was  added;  2)  the  word  "fireplace"  was 
removed because it was redundant; 3) Subsection R307-302-
5(3) was amended to clarify that a person burning wood in a 
solid fuel burning device may only burn seasoned wood; 4) 
the term "facilities" was removed because "facility" is defined 
in  Section  R307-101-2;  5)  "Phase  2"  was  removed  from 
Section  R307-302-6  to  be  consistent  with  the  terminology 
used in the 2015 New Source Performance Standard; 6) the 
option to register a solid fuel  burning device with the local 
health district was removed because Utah Code Section 19-
2-107.5 requires registration with the Division; and 7) a list of 
continuous controls in the form of prohibited burning materials 
was added.

STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR 
THIS RULE:  Section 19-2-104

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO:
♦ THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be minimal impact on the 
state budget.  If the state owns a regulated heating appliance 
as described in the rule, then the state may have a small cost 
associated  with  switching  to  non-prohibited  materials.  The 
cost will likely be $0 since approved fuels should not be more 
expensive  than  non-approved  fuels.   If  there  is  a  cost 
difference,  it  will  likely  be  less  than  $100  per  unit  using 
prohibited  fuels.   It  is  hard  to  determine  exact  numbers 
because there are too many variables.  To estimate the cost, 
a person would have to know the cost of the prohibited fuel 
and the cost of the approved fuel.
♦ LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be minimal impact on 
local governments.  If a government owns a regulated heating 
appliance as described in the rule, then the government may 
have a small cost associated with switching to non-prohibited 
materials.   The cost  will  likely be $0 since approved fuels 
should not be more expensive than non-approved fuels.  If 
there is a cost difference, it will likely be less than $100 per 
unit  using  prohibited  fuels.   It  is  hard  to  determine  exact 
numbers because there are too many variables.  To estimate 
the  cost,  a  person  would  have  to  know  the  cost  of  the 
prohibited fuel and the cost of the approved fuel.
♦ SMALL BUSINESSES:  There will  be minimal impact on 
small  businesses.   If  a  small  business  owns  a  regulated 
heating  appliance  as  described  in  the  rule,  then the  small 
business may have a cost associated with switching to non-
prohibited materials.  The cost will likely be $0 since approved 
fuels should not be more expensive than non-approved fuels. 
If there is a cost difference, it will likely be less than $100.  It 
is  hard to determine exact numbers because there are too 
many variables.  To estimate the cost, a person would have to 
know  the  cost  of  the  prohibited  fuel  and  the  cost  of  the 
approved fuel.
♦  PERSONS  OTHER  THAN  SMALL  BUSINESSES, 
BUSINESSES,  OR  LOCAL  GOVERNMENTAL  ENTITIES: 
Persons  other  than  small  businesses,  businesses,  or  local 
government entities will be impacted in a small way.  "Other 
persons" will not be able to burn materials on the prohibited 
burn list in regulated devices.  They will have to purchase an 
approved solid fuel as described in the rule in order to use 
their device.  The cost will likely be $0 since approved fuels 
should not be more expensive than non-approved fuels.  If 
there is a cost difference, it will likely be less than $100 per 
unit.  It is hard to determine exact numbers because there are 
too many variables.  To estimate the cost,  a person would 
have to know the cost of the prohibited fuel and the cost of 
the approved fuel.

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  People 
who use solid fuel burning devices will  have to take on the 
cost of switching fuels, if their fuel is on the prohibited list.  It 
is unlikely that this cost will be significant.  Most people are 
already using approved fuels.  The cost will likely be $0 since
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approved  fuels  should  not  be  more  expensive  than  non-
approved fuels.  If there is a cost difference, it will likely be 
less  than  $100.   It  is  hard  to  determine  exact  numbers 
because there are too many variables.  To estimate the cost, 
a person would have to know the cost of the prohibited fuel 
and the cost of the approved fuel.

COMMENTS  BY  THE  DEPARTMENT  HEAD  ON  THE 
FISCAL IMPACT THE RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES: 
This  rule  amendment  will  have  a minimal  fiscal  impact  on 
businesses.  Businesses will only be impacted by the rule if 
they  are  burning  prohibited  items  in  a  solid  fuel  burning 
device used for comfort heating.  The fiscal impact to these 
businesses will be the cost of switching to an approved fuel.

THE  FULL TEXT  OF  THIS  RULE  MAY BE  INSPECTED, 
DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS, AT:

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
AIR QUALITY
FOURTH FLOOR 
195 N 1950 W
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84116-3085
or at the Office of Administrative Rules.

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO:
♦ Ryan Stephens by phone at 801-536-4419, by FAX at 801-
536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at rstephens@utah.gov

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON 
THIS RULE BY SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS NO 
LATER THAN AT 5:00 PM ON 10/31/2016

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  11/07/2016

AUTHORIZED BY:  Bryce Bird, Director

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality.
R307-302.   Solid  Fuel  Burning  Devices[ in  Box  Elder,  Cache, 
Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah, and Weber Counties].
R307-302-1.  Purpose and Definitions.

(1)  R307-302 establishes emission standards for [fireplaces 
and]all solid fuel burning devices [used in residential,  commercial, 
institutional and industrial facilities and associated outbuildings ]used 
to provide comfort heating.

(2)  The following additional definitions apply to R307-302:
                 "Seasoned wood" means wood that has a moisture content of   
less than or equal to 25%.  

"Sole source of heat" means the solid fuel burning device is 
the only available source of heat for the entire residence, except for 
small portable heaters.

"Solid fuel burning device" means fireplaces, wood stoves 
and boilers used for burning wood, coal, or any other nongaseous and 
non-liquid  fuel,  both  indoors  and  outdoors,  but  excluding  outdoor 
wood boilers, which are regulated under R307-208.

R307-302-2.  Applicability.
(1)  R307-302-3 and R307-302-6 shall apply to any solid 

fuel burning device used to provide comfort heating in PM10 [and]or   

PM2.5 nonattainment [and]or maintenance areas as defined in 40 CFR 
81.345 (July 1, 2011). [and geographically described as all regions of 
Salt Lake and Davis counties; all portions of the Cache Valley; all 
regions in Weber and Utah counties west of the Wasatch mountain 
range;] Collectively,  The  PM10  and  PM2.5  nonattainment  and 
maintenance plan areas are geographically defined as all regions of 
Salt Lake and Davis counties; all portions of the Cache Valley; all 
regions in Weber County west  of the Wasatch mountain range;  all 
regions  of  Utah  County; in  Box Elder  County,  from the  Wasatch 
mountain range west to the Promontory mountain range and south of 
Portage;  and  in  Tooele  County,  from the northernmost  part  of  the 
Oquirrh mountain range to the northern most part of the Stansbury 
mountain range and north of Route 199.

(2)  R307-302-4 shall apply only within the city limits of 
Provo in Utah County.

(3)  R307-302-5 shall apply in all portions of Box Elder, 
Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, Utah and Weber counties.

(4)  The following exemptions apply to R307-302:
(a)  R307-302 does not apply to restaurant and institutional 

food preparation.
(b)  R307-302 does not apply to commercial and industrial 

boilers subject to an approval order issued under R307-401.
(c)  R307-302-3 does not apply to sources located above 

7,000 feet in elevation within Box Elder, Davis, Salt Lake, Tooele, 
Utah and Weber counties.

(d)  R307-302 does not apply to firefighting training devices 
that meet the definition of a solid fuel burning device.

R307-302-3.  No-Burn Periods for [Fine ]Particulates.
(1)  [By June 1, 2015,]A person using a solid fuel burning 

device as a sole source[s] of [residential  ]heat[ing using solid fuel 
burning devices] must [be ]register[ed] with the director in order to be 
exempt during mandatory no-burn periods.

(2)  When the ambient concentration of PM10 measured by 
the 
monitors in Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, or Utah counties reaches the level 
of 120 micrograms per cubic meter and the forecasted weather for the 
specific area includes a temperature inversion which is predicted to 
continue  for  at  least  24  hours,  the  director  will  issue  a  public 
announcement  and  will  distribute  such  announcement  to  the  local 
media notifying the public that a mandatory no-burn period for solid 
fuel burning devices [and fireplaces ]is in effect. The mandatory no-
burn periods will only apply to those areas or counties impacting the 
real-time monitoring site registering the 120 micrograms per cubic 
meter  concentration.  [Residents,  commercial,  institutional  and 
industrial facilities of] A person in the affected areas shall not use  a   
solid fuel burning device[s or fireplaces except those that are] unless it 
is the sole source of heat for [the]an entire residence and registered 
with the director.

(3)  PM10 Contingency Plan.   If  the PM10 Contingency 
Plan described in Section IX, Part A, of the State Implementation Plan 
has  been  implemented,  the  trigger  level  for  no-burn  periods  as 
specified in R307-302-3(2) will be 110 micrograms per cubic meter for 
that area where the PM10 Contingency Plan has been implemented.

(4)  When the ambient concentration of PM2.5 measured by 
monitors  in  Box Elder,  Cache,  Davis,  Salt  Lake,  Tooele,  Utah  or 
Weber counties are forecasted to reach or exceed 25 micrograms per 
cubic meter, the director will issue a public announcement to provide 
broad  notification  that  a  mandatory  no-burn  period  for  solid  fuel 
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burning devices [and fireplaces  ]is in effect. The mandatory no-burn 
periods will  only apply to those counties identified by the director. 
[Residents, commercial, institutional and industrial facilities]A person   
within the geographical boundaries described in R307-302-2(1) shall 
not use a solid fuel burning device[s or fireplaces except those that are] 
unless it is the sole source of heat for [the]an entire residence and 
registered with the director.

(5)  PM2.5 Contingency Plan.  If the PM2.5 contingency 
plan  of  the  State  Implementation  Plan  has  been  implemented,  the 
trigger level for no-burn periods as specified in R307-302-3(4) shall be 
15  micrograms  per  cubic  meter  for  the  area  where  the  PM2.5 
contingency plan has been implemented.

R307-302-4.  No-Burn Periods for Carbon Monoxide.
(1)  Beginning on November 1 and through March 1, the 

director  will  issue a  public  announcement  and will  distribute  such 
announcement to the local media notifying the public that a mandatory 
no-burn period for solid fuel burning devices [and fireplaces  ]is in 
effect  when  the  running  eight-hour  average  carbon  monoxide 
concentration as monitored by the state at 4:00 PM reaches a value of 
6.0 ppm or more.

(2)  In addition to the conditions contained in R307-302-
4(1), the director may use meteorological conditions to initiate a no-
burn period.  These conditions are:

(a)   A national  weather  service forecasted clearing index 
value of 250 or less;

(b)  Forecasted wind speeds of three miles per hour or less;
(c)  Passage of a vigorous cold front through the Wasatch 

Front; or
(d)  Arrival of a strong high pressure system into the area.
(3)  During the no-burn periods specified in R307-302-4(1) 

and (2), [residents, commercial, institutional and industrial facilities]a 
person in Provo City shall not use  a  solid fuel burning device[s or 
fireplaces except those that are] unless it is the sole source of heat for 
[the]an entire residence and [are]is registered with the director[ or the 
local health district office].

R307-302-5.   Opacity  and  Prohibited  Fuels  for  Heating 
Appliances.

(1)   Except during no-burn periods as required by R307-
302-3 and 4, visible emissions from solid fuel burning devices [and 
fireplaces ]shall be limited to a shade or density no darker than 20% 
opacity as measured by EPA Method 9, except for the following:

([1]a)  An initial fifteen minute start-up period, and
([2]b)  A period of fifteen minutes in any three-hour period 

in  which  emissions  may  exceed  the  20%  opacity  limitation  for 
refueling.
                 (2)  Prohibited Fuels: A person shall not cause or allow   
any of the following materials to be burned in a solid fuel burning 
device at any time:
                 (a)  asphaltic products;  
                 (b)  books and magazines;  
                 (c)  garbage;  
                 (d)  paints;  
                 (e)  colored/wrapping paper;  
                 (f)  plastic;  
                 (g)  rubber products;  
                 (h)  treated wood;  

                 (i)  waste petroleum products; or  
                 (j)  any other material not intended by a manufacturer for   
use as a fuel in a solid fuel burning device.
                 (3)  A person burning wood in a solid fuel burning device   
shall only burn seasoned wood.

R307-302-6.  Prohibition.
(1)  [Beginning September 1, 2013, n]No person shall sell, 

offer for sale, supply, install, or transfer a wood burning stove that is 
not EPA [Phase 2 ]certified or a fireplace that is not EPA qualified.

(2)  Ownership of a non EPA [Phase 2 ]certified stove within 
a  residential  dwelling  installed  prior  to  March  6,  2014  may  be 
transferred as  part  of  a  real  estate  transaction,  so long as  the unit 
remains intact within the real property of sale.

KEY:  air pollution, fireplaces, stoves, solid fuel burning
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment:  [February 4, 
2015]2016  
Notice of Continuation:  May 6, 2015
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law:  19-2-101; 19-
2-104

Environmental Quality, Drinking Water
R309-105-15
Annual Reports

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
(Amendment)

DAR FILE NO.:  40770
FILED:  09/14/2016

RULE ANALYSIS
PURPOSE  OF  THE  RULE  OR  REASON  FOR  THE 
CHANGE:   The  Utah  State  Legislature  enacted  H.B.  305 
during the 2016 General Session, which was signed by the 
governor on 03/18/2016 and became effective on 05/10/2016. 
H.B. 305 amends Subsection 19-4-104(1)(c)(iv) of the Utah 
Code  by  directing  the  Drinking  Water  Board  to  require  a 
certified  operator  of  a  public  water  supplier  to  verify  by 
signature and certification number or a professional engineer 
performing the duties of a certified water operator to verify by 
signature and stamp the accuracy of any data on water use 
and water supply submitted by the public water supplier to the 
division.  Therefore, the Division proposes to amend Section 
R309-105-15,  Annual  Reports,  to  implement  the  new 
requirement.

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:   The  proposed 
amendment to Section R309-105-15 requires a public water 
system to submit water-use data if required by the state, and 
to verify the accuracy of that data.  The amendment requires 
a  public  water  system  to  comply  with  all  report  submittal 
requirements of the Title R309 drinking water rules.  It also 
changes the title of Section R309-105-15.
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