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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 
TO:  Air Quality Board 
 
THROUGH: Bryce C. Bird, Executive Secretary  
 
THROUGH: Regg Olsen, Permitting Branch Manager  
 
FROM: David Beatty, Operating Permit Section Manager  
 
DATE:  August 20, 2015  
 
SUBJECT: Propose for Public Comment with Department Fee Schedule:  Operating Permit Program 

Fee for Fiscal Year 2017.  
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Title V of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) requires the State of Utah to develop an 
Operating Permit Program (OPP), to include a fee system which is to be used solely to fund all direct and 
indirect costs associated with administering the OPP.  Section 19-2-109.1(4)(a) of the Utah Conservation 
Act authorizes the Utah Air Quality Board (the Board) to propose to the legislature an annual emission fee 
that conforms to Title V of the CAAA for each ton of chargeable pollutant.  The fee is included as part of 
the Department’s fee schedule each fall.   
 
Utah began collecting an emission fee of $25 per ton of air pollution emitted, during fiscal year 1993, to 
fund development of the program.  The fee has changed in varying increments from -4.3% to +17.9%.  The 
current fee charged to fund fiscal year 2016 is $69.61 per ton of emissions.  Most fee increases have been 
the result of reduced emission tonnages by sources or increasing salaries and benefits to staff as part of 
legislative approved cost of living increases.  An additional increase beginning in fiscal year 2017 is for 
replacement of existing monitoring network equipment that has reached its usable life.  Also, staff size has 
been reduced from 39 full-time employees (FTEs) in 1995 to a level of 31 FTEs for fiscal year 2017; this 
has assisted in keeping fee increases as low as possible.   
 
For fiscal year 2017, Air Quality staff is basing its proposal on a projected emissions inventory of 58,500 
tons, an amount equal to FY2016.  The inventory appears to be stable with no foreseeable major increases 
or decreases for next year.  The fee calculation is shown in the table below and shows a fee of $74.37 for 
fiscal year 2017, an increase from fiscal year 2016 of 6.8%.   
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Operating Permit Emission Fee for Fiscal Year 2017 
 
FY2017 Salary + Benefits (using FY2016 Projections)  $3,353,370   

FY2017 Projected Cost Of Living Increase 2%  $67,067    

FY2017 Projected Salary + Benefits with Projected Increase    $3,420,437  

FY2017 Projected Indirect Costs  12.0% $410,452   

FY2017 Projected Direct Costs  $520,000   

FY2017 Projected Total Expenditures    $4,350,889  

FY2017 Projected Fee Tonnage   58,500   

Fee Rate Per Ton of Emissions    $74.37  

FY2015 Surplus   $0    

Surplus Reduction in Fee  $0.00    

FY2017 Proposed Fee Rate Per Ton of Emissions    $74.37  

  $4.76  Increase 
Current Fee (FY2016) is $69.61   
 
Staff Recommendation:  Staff recommends the Board submit as part of the Department’s fee schedule, a 
proposed fee of $74.37/ton for the operating permit program for fiscal year 2017. 
 



PUBLIC NOTICE 
 
 

The Utah Department of Environmental Quality has completed a draft of the 2017 fiscal 
year Fee Schedule for the Department.  
 
The public comment for the Draft Fee Schedule will commence on Tuesday, August 11, 
2015 with a notification being published in the Salt Lake Tribune and the Deseret News.  
The comment period will end on September 10, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.  A public hearing has 
been scheduled to receive oral comment on the Draft Fee Schedule on Thursday, 
September 10, 2015, beginning at 1:00 p.m. in the DEQ Board Room 1015, at the  Utah 
Department of Environmental Quality, 195 North 1950 West, Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 
Written comments must be received no later than 5 p.m. on September 10, 2015, and 
should be addressed to: 
  Craig Silotti 
  Utah Department of Environmental Quality 
  Office of Support Services 4th Floor 
  195 North 1950 West 
  P.O. Box 144810 
  Salt Lake City, Utah   84114-4810 
 
A copy of the Draft Fee Schedule is available for review between the hours of 8 a.m. and 
5 p.m., Monday through Friday, at the following address: 
 
  Department of Environmental Quality 
  1st Floor Reception Desk 
  195 North 1950 West 
  Salt Lake City, Utah   84116 
 
In addition, a copy of the Draft Fee Schedule is available on UDEQ’s website at:  
http://www.deq.utah.gov/FeesGrants/Fees/Fee _schedules.htm 
 
 
For further details or questions concerning the Draft Fee Schedule, contact Laurie Leib at 
the Department of Environmental Quality, 801-536-4440. 
 
In compliance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, individuals needing special 
accommodations (including auxiliary communicative aids and services) during this 
hearing should notify Human Resources, 801-499-2117, 195 North 1950 West, 4th Floor, 
Salt Lake City, Utah, at least three working days prior to the hearing. 
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