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M E M O R A N D U M 
 
 
TO:  Air Quality Board 
 
THROUGH: Bryce C. Bird, Executive Secretary  
 
THROUGH: Regg Olsen, Permitting Branch Manager  
 
FROM: David Beatty, Operating Permit Section Manager  
 
DATE:  August 31, 2016  
 
SUBJECT: Propose for Public Comment with Department Fee Schedule:  Operating Permit Program 

Fee for Fiscal Year 2018.  
______________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Title V of the Clean Air Act Amendments of 1990 (CAAA) requires the State of Utah to develop an 
Operating Permit Program (OPP), to include a fee system which is to be used solely to fund all direct and 
indirect costs associated with administering the OPP.  Section 19-2-109.1(4)(a) of the Utah Conservation 
Act authorizes the Utah Air Quality Board (the Board) to propose to the legislature an annual emission fee 
that conforms to Title V of the CAAA for each ton of chargeable pollutant.  The fee is included as part of 
the Department’s fee schedule each fall.   
 
Utah began collecting an emission fee of $25 per ton of air pollution emitted, during fiscal year 1993, to 
fund development of the program.  The fee has changed in varying increments from -4.3% to +17.9%.  The 
current fee charged to fund fiscal year 2017 is $74.37 per ton of emissions.  Most fee increases have been 
the result of reduced emission tonnages by sources or increasing salaries and benefits to staff as part of 
legislative approved cost of living increases.  An additional increase beginning in fiscal year 2018 is the 
result of staff salary increases and a further reduction of 1,500 tons of chargeable pollutants.  Also, staff 
size has been reduced from 39 full-time employees (FTEs) in 1995 to a level of 31 FTEs for fiscal year 
2018; this has assisted in keeping fee increases as low as possible.   
 
For fiscal year 2018, Air Quality staff is basing its proposal on a projected emissions inventory of 57,000 
tons, an amount equal to FY2017.  The inventory appears to be stable with no foreseeable major increases 
or decreases for next year.  The fee calculation is shown in the table below and shows a fee of $77.71 for 
fiscal year 2018, an increase from fiscal year 2017 of 4.5%.   
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Operating Permit Emission Fee for Fiscal Year 2018 
 
FY2018 Salary + Benefits (using FY2017 Projections)  $3,364,919  

FY2018 Projected Cost Of Living Increase 2%  $67,298   

FY2018 Projected Salary + Benefits with Projected Increase    $3,432,217 

FY2018 Projected Indirect Costs  12.55% $430,743  

FY2018 Projected Direct Costs  $566,321  

FY2018 Projected Total Expenditures    $4,429,281 

FY2018 Projected Fee Tonnage   57,000  

Fee Rate Per Ton of Emissions    $77.71 

FY2016 Surplus   $0   

Surplus Reduction in Fee  $0.00   

FY2018 Proposed Fee Rate Per Ton of Emissions    $77.71 

  $3.34  Increase
Current Fee (FY2017) is $74.37   
 
Staff Recommendation:  Staff recommends the Board submit as part of the Department’s fee schedule, a 
proposed fee of $77.71/ton for the operating permit program for fiscal year 2018. 
 


