SMALL BUSINESS COMPLIANCE ADVISORY PANEL
TUESDAY, AUGUST 12, 2008

Present:

Kevin G. Hooper, Shoppes at Telegraph Square

Paul Glauser, Staker & Parsons Companies

Marie Marshall, Chamber East Chamber of Commerce
Brad Overmoe, Red Hanger Cleaners

Rusty Ruby, Division of Air Quality
Robert Ford, Division of Air Quality
Mat Carlisle, Division of Air Quality
Eileen Brennan, Division of Qir Quality

Welcome/Approval of Minutes: A correction was made that Kevin Hooper did not attend the
April 2008 meeting. A motion was made to approve the minutes with correction. Paul Glauser
seconded the motion, unanimously passed.

Presentation

Mat Carlile reported that the rule governing the grant and loan program was approved by the Board,
which will go into effect October 8, 2008. Grants and loans are a means for business and
government to apply for money to purchase natural gas fleet vehicles or convert present fleet of
cars. The limitation of the program includes a maximum of 100 vehicles and $100,000 per project.
The minimum is $5,000. The loans also include service stations.

Grants for refueling station can be matched with other Federal and non-federal grants. Alternative
fuels are a viable option to cut costs of fuel. Information is on the DEQ web page.

For the tax credit incentive an individual or business must purchase clean burning fuel vehicles.
The tax credit is $3,000 for a CNG vehicle. CNG conversion is $2,500.00, but the cost to convert a
vehicle is $10,000.00 - $15,000.00. There is also the same requirement to be EPA certified.

The Utah Legislature revised the State’s Clean Air and Efficient VVehicle Tax Incentives during the
2008 legislative session. This revision reduced the tax credit for Natural Gas OEM vebhicle to the
lesser of $2500 or 35% of the vehicle's purchase price; other clean fuel vehicles may be eligible for
a credit of up to $750 if they meet air quality and fuel economy standards. This revision also
eliminates a provision that excludes hybrid electric- gasoline vehicles from the tax credit; however
they would need to meet air quality and fuel economy standards to be eligible. These changes will
go into effect on January 1, 2009

Harrisburg Conference Report

Marie Marshal reported there is a trend to combine programs, and feels they are moving in the
wrong direction. She further encouraged members to stay involved. Next year the convention will
be held in Lexington, Kentucky. Presentations and other news from the 2008 conference can be
found at http://www.sbeapconference.com/




Lead Based-Paint

Bob Ford gave an overview of the lead-based paint program and reviewed the regulatory definition.
Lead Based Paint Certification Training is provided and inspections performed. Annual training
procedure records have been audited, and 90% in Utah have been completed.

Ceramics are sources of concern, but lead testing resulted in no issues with color, glaze, or outer
layer.

Updates — MACT Standards
Eileen Brennan distributed MACT rules to all members present. The information packets are also
available on the web site.

Compliance notifications have been sent to all businesses requesting an update on their notification
forms. Gasoline dispensing notifications have been received from large companies, but there seems
to be an issue of awareness. There also has been no enforcement action.

Recognition of 2006-2008 award recipients
In appreciation of service and in behalf of CAP, Paul Harding presented plaque to Renette
Anderson.

Other Business

Renette reported on the School Bus Retrofit Program. The device to reduce pollution costs
$2,000.00, which EPA grants can fund. Davis County is working very well. There are 23 school
districts that have entered into the program.

EPA grants fund $500, 00.00, which is combined with matching funds from the County. We need
1.2 million to do all buses throughout the State of Utah. RFP vendors will bid by mid January.

Climate Change:
Renette Anderson stated that the Governor’s Greenhouse gas role is to have 2005 levels by 2020.

BRAC report — We are reviewing 72 options, and how do to go forward and implement. Paul will
e-mail September Draft rule to CAP members.

Climate Register - An orientation will be held August 26™ at 9:00 a.m. in Room 101. A
representative from the Climate Registry will be available. The Climate registry has 39 states, six
(6) Canadian provinces, and five (5) Mexican states.

The cap-and-trade is being developed, but stakeholders are not getting back to us. States like
Oregon and Washington favor hydro, but Utah has coal, which is the major source of employment.
Our package needs to be balanced.

The meeting was adjourned. The next meeting will be held on Tuesday, October 21, 2008,
2:00 pm, Rm 201 DEQ building #2



